75.4 F
Tuesday, August 9, 2022

West Virginia Legislature Blog

81st Legislature Members Convene for Opening Day

Today marks the opening day of the first session of the 81st West Virginia Legislature. Newly elected members will be sworn in at noon in their respective chambers. Members of the House and Senate will elect presiding officers which will include the Speaker of the House, President of the Senate, the House and Senate Clerks, Head Door Keepers and the Sergeant at Arms.

At 1:30, senators and delegates will reconvene in the House Chamber for a joint assembly to receive the election returns for the Constitutional Officers.


The 1st Regular Session of the 81st Legislature convened on opening day to swear in the newly elected members of the Senate and House of Delegates. Members of the Senate were sworn in by the Honorable West Virginia Supreme Court of Appeals Chief Justice Brent Benjamin. Members of the House were sworn in by the Honorable Justice Menis Ketchum II.

The House and Senate re-elected House Speaker Richard Thompson and Senate President Jeffrey Kessler, respectively.

Also elected to their official positions were Senate Clerk Joseph Minard replacing former Clerk Darrell Holmes, Senate Sergeant of Arms Howard Wellman and Senate Doorkeeper Anthony Gallo. The House of Delegates re-elected House Clerk Gregory Gray, and elected House Sergeant of Arms George McClaskie and House Doorkeeper Tom Hively.

Immediately following the swearing-in ceremonies, Senators and Delegates reconvened in the House Chamber for a joint assembly to receive the statewide election returns.

Both the West Virginia Senate and House of Delegates have adjourned until Wednesday, February 13, 2013.

Related Articles

Latest Articles